Day 20 Newcastle to Moorfields

Standard

…which makes me immediately think of North East England (where my mum came from ) to London (where my dad was born), but we’re still in Northern Ireland. Funny how place names crop up again and again in the UK. You can’t swing a cat without hitting a Wellow or a Thornbury, although if you look at the derivation of these sorts of names the reasons become clear. New-castle, town, port speak for themselves, although I still can’t find what Wellow is supposed to mean.

Names change, too. Beaulieu used to be called Bewley (the ley bit is to do with meadows, I think, there are lots of variations on that in British place names – ley, lea, etc). Clearly people felt the need to poshify it at some point.

And while we’re on coincidental names, here’s an unlikely one from the same part of Northern Ireland. What a difference an L makes.

I wonder if the Moorfields in Northern Ireland ever had the same reputation as the one in London (18th century ‘cruising’ area)?

4 responses »

  1. I like the house, too. In fact, I love them all. They are all so charming, and have a distinct personality. I think I could tell a house was in the British Isles without being told so.

    • I think you’re spot on. And probably you could get the era, too. I think that’s a station house, which is in itself distinctive. It looks very similar to several old stations near us. 🙂

Leave a Reply

